WordFest  is a ‘festival within a festival’  offering an exciting variety of events for written & spoken-word artists of all ages, styles, languages, genres, and levels.  Our vision is to produce a rich selection of programs affording festival attendees to participate in three ways:

    • to hear poetry during author readings, open mics, panel discussions, and performances;
    • to practice the craft of poetry through writing workshops;
    • to speak/share works aloud bringing words from the page to the stage via open mics, featured readings, and round-table sharing during workshops.
    • to submit poems for an opportunity to be published in the Waco Cultural Arts Fest WordFest Anthology (details below)

    All WordFest events are FREE and open to the public of all ages.

    WordFest is honored to be an affiliate of the Austin International Poetry Festival 

    WordFest 2019 – Save the dates

    Fri. Oct 4 – Sun. Oct. 6

    Waco Convention Center, 100 Washington Avenue

    ALL WordFest Events will be in

    Texas South Rooms 116-117

    MARCH 22 Nathan Brown House Concert  – Waco

    The 2018 WordFest   Feature Poet Nathan Brown  

    the former Oklahoma Poet Laureate (2013-14)!!!

    Venue 5208 Hillcrest Drive $20 at the door

    helping to support the 2019 WORDFEST

    Nathan Brown, musician and poet


    Copies of the 2018 WordFest Anthology available on amazon.com

      Check out our Facebook page for up to date information. https://www.facebook.com/wacoartsfest.org/

    Like our Facebook page to find out new things.

    For Additional Information email  wacowordfest@yahoo.com

    Copies of the 2017 anthology  $10.  They may be ordered on Amazon.com/books

    Submissions Guidelines for 2019 Anthology

    Poets may submit two poems on any family friendly topic for consideration in the 2018 Waco Cultural Arts Fest WordFest Anthology. Each poem should include a title and be 24 lines or less in Times New Roman 12 point font with no line longer than 50 characters. Poems can NOT be previously published.

    Send your poems in the body of one email to wacowordfest@yahoo.com  Put your name on the subject line of the email.

    Contact information must be included at the bottom of your poem. This includes name, mailing address/city/state/country, email address, and phone number at the bottom of the entry. If the submitter is under 18 years old, please note age and school beside the name. A special youth section may be included in the anthology.

    Please follow submissions guidelines in order to be considered.  Do not send more than one email. You will receive a confirmation when your poem has been received.

    There is no fee for entering. Deadline is July 15, 2019. Poets selected will be notified by July 30. They will be invited to a Distinguished Writers’ Reception at 6 pm Sat. Oct. 5 where they will receive a complimentary copy of the anthology and will be invited to read their poem from the anthology at a public reading at the Waco Convention Center on Sat. Oct. 5, 2019 at 7 pm. Poets living in the United States unable to attend the reading will have their anthologies mailed to them later in Oct. 2019.  International poets will receive an electronic copy by email.  Copies will be available for purchase on amazon.com for $10 worldwide.


     Please like our  FB page https://www.facebook.com/wacoartsfest.org/

    For more information or to send questions, comments, or suggestions please contact the WordFest Chair Sandi Horton at: wacowordfest@yahoo.com